IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Game won't run on Windows 7, It just won't load...
CorpusDelicti
post Sep 16 2010, 04:02 PM
Post #1


Anteater
*

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 7
Points: 70
Joined: 16-September 10

Member No.: 63913



Hello, it seems that my computer is unable to run Zoo Tycoon 2 Ultimate Collection. What happens is when I try to run the game, the screen flash briefly and it says that it has switched to Windows Basic, but then nothing, it just won't run. I've searched almost everywhere for a solution and nothing has worked. Windows 7 is up to date, I've tried running it in compatibility mode for Windows XP, changed screen resolution, checked the memory from the boot menu, but nothing works. Please help, I'm dying to play this! unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Anonymous-
post Sep 16 2010, 07:11 PM
Post #2


White Bengal Tiger
****

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 142
Points: 1413
Joined: 14-July 10

From: Atlantis
Member No.: 62384



I don't know of any solution currently. Although I would like know if are you trying to install or play it? Also does an error message come up? And the Windows basic color switch is normal I think, as it happens to me. Also I would like to know what happens if you do this;
Press Control, Alt, and, delete (not the baskape button).
Press open task manger.
Then try to start ZT2.
Does it register in the task menu?


--------------------




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CorpusDelicti
post Sep 17 2010, 12:31 PM
Post #3


Anteater
*

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 7
Points: 70
Joined: 16-September 10

Member No.: 63913



It installs without any problems, it's trying to play it that is the problem. It shows up in the task manager as "zt *32.exe" and in a recent discovery it tells me to put in the CD after a while, but ONLY if I run it in compatibility mode for Windows XP, if I run it without compatibility mode no error comes up.

This post has been edited by CorpusDelicti: Sep 17 2010, 12:32 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PsychicZookeeper
post Sep 17 2010, 02:01 PM
Post #4


Responsible for Bart 1 and Bart 2
Group Icon

Group: Owner [The Boss]
Posts: 15945
Points: 19780
Joined: 10-February 04

From: Eastern US
Member No.: 33



The CD must be in the drive for the game to run. So put the game disc in the drive before you try to start the game.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CorpusDelicti
post Oct 21 2010, 03:06 PM
Post #5


Anteater
*

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 7
Points: 70
Joined: 16-September 10

Member No.: 63913



QUOTE (PsychicZookeeper @ Sep 17 2010, 02:01 PM) *
The CD must be in the drive for the game to run. So put the game disc in the drive before you try to start the game.


The disk is in the drive, but somehow it doesn't recognize it as I said before.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PsychicZookeeper
post Oct 22 2010, 05:31 AM
Post #6


Responsible for Bart 1 and Bart 2
Group Icon

Group: Owner [The Boss]
Posts: 15945
Points: 19780
Joined: 10-February 04

From: Eastern US
Member No.: 33



I'm sorry, but I don't know what to suggest. I have never tried to run the game on Windows 7. You might try searching for errors/fixes for Vista and applying them in Windows 7


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keldaryth
post Dec 20 2010, 04:29 AM
Post #7


Gray Wolf
**

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 24
Points: 240
Joined: 10-April 10

Member No.: 56492



Mine works on Win 7???

It switches screen mode to basic due to some colour issues, but it does that automatically?

K
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CJL
post Dec 20 2010, 08:19 PM
Post #8


Black Leopard
*****

Group: Zookeeper
Posts: 533
Points: 5330
Joined: 11-May 09

From: Minnesota
Member No.: 34639



On my Windows 7, it reconizes the disk, but one you select "play" a little pop-up will apear saying that the computer doesn't have enough memory. It says:
Not enough memery space. (865 mb needed)

Although my Windows 7 still has about 621 giga bites of free space.
I've looked on lots of websites but it seems not many people can get it to work on Windows 7.

This post has been edited by CJL: Dec 20 2010, 08:20 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
torrezlover
post Dec 21 2010, 01:57 AM
Post #9


White Bengal Tiger
****

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 133
Points: 1330
Joined: 18-December 10

Member No.: 65661



I also have a windows 7 you basicly just have to wait a while and press it a few times it will work!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TazLover
post Dec 21 2010, 10:26 PM
Post #10


T-Rex
Group Icon

Group: DRT [Mod]
Posts: 5027
Points: 9880
Joined: 12-August 05

From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2752



CJL, how much memory does your computer have? If it has more than 4 gigs of memory (not free space - that is the hard drive) then that may be your problem. If you search around, there are work-arounds for this problem.


--------------------



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tigergirl12
post Dec 22 2010, 12:02 AM
Post #11


Mako Shark
****

Group: Tour Guide
Posts: 271
Points: 2710
Joined: 16-December 10

From: USA
Member No.: 65614



TazLover's solution is probably a good idea. Hope it works soon! consoling2.gif

This post has been edited by Tigergirl12: Dec 22 2010, 12:02 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Anonymous-
post Dec 24 2010, 07:51 PM
Post #12


White Bengal Tiger
****

Group: Maintenance Worker
Posts: 142
Points: 1413
Joined: 14-July 10

From: Atlantis
Member No.: 62384



QUOTE (torrezlover @ Dec 20 2010, 08:57 PM) *
I also have a windows 7 you basicly just have to wait a while and press it a few times it will work!

If its RAM the solution is here.As for Corpus Delicti, does your PC read other CD's or is it only this one that doesn't work, because it could be the drive.


--------------------




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th April 2014 - 02:29 PM